Return to previous page
THE HOUSE OF LOVE were one of the most successful and critically acclaimed bands to grace Creation Records back in the late 1980s.
Their eponymous debut album was cited as one of the best albums of 1988 by music magazines and Indie fans alike. It has been out-of-print on CD for some time now.
This deluxe edition of THE HOUSE OF LOVE offers the band’s complete Creation recordings from 1987-1988, together with a raft of previously unissued bonus material.  The package boasts all their Creation Records singles, from the original version of ‘Shine On’, ‘Real Animal’ and the US favourite ‘Christine’ (which reached #8 in the Modern Rock chart there) to their final single for the label, ‘Destroy The Heart’.
Disc 3 is devoted to nineteen hitherto unheard HOUSE OF LOVE demos, including two exclusive Guy Chadwick songs ‘Hold On Me’ and ‘Modern World’, which were never released!  Also making their debut on CD is the rare 7” album freebie (two demos) and the ‘Flexidisc’ version of ‘Shine On’, together with Guy’s original demo of this song which eventually gave them a sizeable hit.

This 3-CD package is housed in a stylish Digipak with fresh sleeve-notes and rare images from the band’s photographer Suzie Gibbons.

Press: “Here was a band who knew just how good they were… If you don’t already own The House Of Love, buy it.” – Michael Hann, The Guardian,

“Two super serving discs of extras include single tracks…plus fan-pleasing alternate takes and intriguing demos…” – MOJO, December 2012

“Considered by many to be the fledgling band’s finest work, it has been hansomely expanded into a three-CD deluxe edition…” – Alan Jones, Music Week

“…still sound like a band engaging into top gear and riding the crest of a wave.” – Andy Peart, Vive Le Rock



Weight 200 kg


Disc 1: The House Of Love

1. Christine

2. Hope

3. Road

4. Sulphur

5. Man To Child

6. Salome

7. Love In A Car

8. Happy

9. Fisherman's Tale

10. Touch Me

Bonus tracks:

11. Shine On (Demo - Bonus 7”)

12. Christine (Demo - Bonus 7”)

Disc 2: Singles, B-Sides, Rarities

1. Shine On

2. Love

3. Flow

4. Real Animal

5. Plastic

6. Nothing To Me

7. The Hill

8. Loneliness Is A Gun

9. The Hedonist

10. Welt

11. Destroy The Heart

12. Blind

13. Mr. Jo

14. Destroy The Heart (Demo)

15. Shine On (Fuck Version)

16. I Don’t Know Why I Love You But I Do (Live - Previously Unissued)

17. Love In A Car (Live - Previously Unissued)

18. Destroy The Heart (Live - Previously Unissued)

19. I Wanna Be Your Dog (Live - Previously Unissued)

Disc 3: Previously Unissued Mixes & Demos

1. Shine On (Guy Chadwick Solo Demo)

2. Touch Me (Demo 1)

3. Real Animal (Demo)

4. Happy (Demo 1)

5. Hold On Me (16 Track Demo)

6. Christine (16 Track Demo)

7. Modern World (Demo)

8. Salome

9. Man To Child

10. Hope

11. Love In A Car

12. Touch Me

13. Road

14. Fisherman’s Tale

15. Happy (Demo 2)

16. Sulphur

17. Real Animal (16 Track Demo)

18. Little Girl (alias Mr Jo)

19. Shine On (Band Demo)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.