Loading... 17 view(s) 11 min read

SPINNERS | Keep On Keepin’ On 7CD boxset coming soon…

SPINNERS | Keep On Keepin’ On 7CD boxset coming soon…

SPINNERS | Keep On Keepin’ On 7CD boxset coming soon…

  • Eagerly-awaited companion volume to The Spinners’ acclaimed best-selling 2023 box set ‘Ain’t No Price on Happiness: The Thom Bell Studio Recordings (1972-1979)’.
  • 7CD box set consisting of expanded editions of all six of The Spinners’ Atlantic albums released after the Thom Bell years, including collaborations with red-hot producers Michael Zager, James Mtume and Reggie Lucas, Freddie Perren, and Leon Sylvers III.
  • 18 bonus tracks include rare single versions, 12-inch mixes, and remixes. ‘Grand Slam’ (1982) and ‘Cross Fire’ (1984) are making their authorized worldwide CD debuts.
  • Plus, as a special bonus, the complete 1975 ‘Spinners Live!’ album featuring lead singer Philippé Wynne and a guest appearance from songwriter Linda Creed.
  • Key tracks include the UK No. 1 smash ‘Working My Way Back to You/Forgive Me Girl’, ‘Cupid/I’ve Loved You for a Long Time’, ‘Yesterday Once More/Nothing Remains the Same’, rap standout ‘The Deacon’, Thom Bell tribute ‘Didn’t I Blow Your Mind’, Linda Creed rarity ‘The Winter of Our Love’, Tawatha Agee’s ‘You Go Your Way (I’ll Go Mine)’, and ‘Magic in the Moonlight’.
  • Splendid remastering by Nick Robbins and top-notch artwork by Roger Williams. A deluxe booklet with comprehensive, album-by-album notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese drawing on exclusive quotes from John Edwards, the late Henry Fambrough, Michael Zager, and Tawatha Agee.

The Spinners – featuring John Edwards, Henry Fambrough, Bobbie Smith, Billy Henderson and Pervis Jackson – were at a crossroads when longtime producer-arranger-conductor Thom Bell announced that he would no longer be working with the group. Producer Michael Zager ushered them into the studio at the height of the disco era, propelling the group into the 1980s with a floor-filling medley of The Four Seasons’ classic ‘Working My Way Back to You’ and his ‘Forgive Me Girl’ which skyrocketed to the top ten of the US Hot 100, Dance, R&B, and AC charts as well as to No. 1 in the UK. The Spinners followed that up with another enduring medley classic combining Sam Cooke’s ‘Cupid’ with Zager’s ‘I’ve Loved You for a Long Time’ and then brought their medley trilogy to a close with Carpenters’ ‘Yesterday Once More’ and Zager’s ‘Nothing Remains the Same’.

After three sizzling albums with Zager, The Spinners moved onto memorable collaborations with such red-hot producers as James Mtume and Reggie Lucas, Freddie Perren and Leon Sylvers III of The Sylvers musical family. On these 1980s albums, the vocal group branched out into funk, dance, and even hip-hop while always retaining the classic, soulful Spinners harmony sound. This long-overlooked period of The Spinners’ history finally gets the comprehensive treatment it deserves on this definitive, bonus-packed box set.


 Dancin’ & Lovin’ (Expanded Edition)

1.  Disco Ride

2.  Body Language

3.  Let's Boogie, Let's Dance

4.  Medley: Working My Way Back To You/ Forgive Me, Girl

5.  With My Eyes

6.  One, One, Two, Two, Boogie Woogie Avenue (Home Of The Boogie, House Of The Funk)

Bonus Tracks

7.  Body Language (Single Version)

8.  With My Eyes (Single Version)

9.  Medley: Working My Way Back To You/ Forgive Me Girl (Single Version)

10.  Body Language (12” Single)

11.  Working My Way Back To You (1988 Chris Paul Re-Generation Mix)

12.  Working My Way Back To You (1988 Chris Paul Re-Generation Mix Edit)


Love Trippin’ (Expanded Edition)

1.  Love Trippin'

2.  Heavy On The Sunshine

3.  Medley: Cupid/I've Loved You For A Long Time

4.  I Just Want To Be With You

5.  Streetwise

6.  I Just Want To Fall In Love

7.  Now That You're Mine Again

8.  Split Decision

9.  I'm Takin' You Back

10.  Pipedream

Bonus Tracks

11.  Medley: Cupid/I’ve Loved You For A Long Time (Single Version)

12.  Now That You’re Mine Again (Single Version)

13.  Medley: Cupid/ I’ve Loved You For A Long Time (12” Single Remix)


Labor Of Love (Expanded Edition)

1.  Long Live Soul Music

2.  Standing On The Rock

3.  Medley: Yesterday Once More / Nothing Remains The Same

4. Almost All The Way To Love

5.  The Winter Of Our Love

6.  Be My Love

7.  Give Your Lady What She Wants

8. A Man Just Don't Know What A Woman Goes Through

9.  The Deacon

Bonus Tracks

10.  Medley: Yesterday Once More/Nothing Remains The Same (Single Version)

11.  Long Live Soul Music (Single Version)


Can’t Shake This Feelin’ (Expanded Edition)

1.  Can't Shake This Feelin'

2.  Knack For Me

3.  You Go Your Way (I'll Go Mine)

4.  Love Connection (Raise The Window Down)

5.  Never Thought I'd Fall In Love

6.  Didn't I Blow Your Mind

7.  Send A Little Love

8.  Love Is Such A Crazy Feeling

9.  Got To Be Love

Bonus Tracks

10.  Love Connection (Raise The Window Down) (Single Version)

11.  Got To Be Love (Single Version)

12.  Never Thought I’d Fall In Love (Single Version)


Grand Slam (Expanded Edition)

1.  City Full Of Memories

2.  Magic In The Moonlight

3.  If I Knew

4.  I'm Calling You Now

5.  So Far Away 

6.  Just Let Love In

7.  Funny How Time Slips Away

8.  Lover Boy

9.  No Other Love

Bonus Tracks

10.  City Full Of Memories (Single Version)

11.  Magic In The Moonlight (Single Version)


Cross Fire (Expanded Edition)

1.  Two Of A Kind

2.  Right Or Wrong

3.  (We Have Come Into) Our Time For Love

4.  Cross Fire

5.  Keep On Keepin' On

6.  Not Just Another Lover

7.  Love Is In Season

8.  All Your Love

9.  Secrets

Bonus Tracks

10.  Right Or Wrong (Single Version)

11.  (We Have Come Into) Our Time For Love (Single Version)


Spinners Live! (1975) (Bonus Disc)

1.  Fascinating Rhythm

2.  I've Got To Make It On My Own

3.  Living A Little, Laughing A Little

4.  One Of A Kind (Love Affair)

5.  Then Came You

6.  Sadie

7.  How Could I Let You Get Away

8.  Could It Be I'm Falling In Love

9.  Superstar Medley: It's Not Unusual/ Don't Mess With Bill/Paper Doll/Stop! In The Name Of Love/ If I Didn't Care/ Hound Dog/Hello Dolly

10.  Love Don't Love Nobody (Pts. 1 & 2)

11.  Mighty Love