Loading... 33 view(s) 8 min read

JESSE JOHNSON | 3 albums from Jesse Johnson coming in June!

JESSE JOHNSON | 3 albums from Jesse Johnson coming in June!


  • For the first time all three of Jesse Johnson’s albums available on one package.
  • Featuring ‘Jesse Johnson’s Revue’, ‘Shockadelica’ and ‘Every Shade Of Love’.
  • Plus five Bonus Tracks.

Jesse Johnson had appeared as a member of the group The Time in Prince’s movie Purple Rain, which quickly exploded into an international blockbuster and spawned a multi- platinum-selling soundtrack album loaded with hit singles. But a few weeks later, Jesse Johnson quit The Time, following singer Morris Day and drummer Jellybean Johnson (no relation) through the exit door.

Johnson’s aspiration to sign a solo record deal was finally realised in 1984 when he inked a contract with A&M Records. Before he cut tracks for his debut album, he wrote and produced a couple of funky synth-pop songs for Janet Jackson’s second album, ‘Dream Street’. Later in 84, he began work writing and producing ‘Jesse Johnson’s Revue’, the self- titled album of a six-piece band Johnson had assembled and led; they included former Time members Mark Cadenas (keys) and Gerry Hubbard (bass), alongside guitarist Michael Baker, keyboardist Tim Bradley, and drummer Bobby Vandell.

The album included three Top Ten R&B singles, ‘Be Your Man’, ‘Can You Help Me’ and ‘I Want My Girl’.

The follow up album ‘Shockadelica’ included the collaboration with Sly Stone, ‘Craazay’ which peaked at number two in the U.S. R&B chart, you will find the extended version included in the bonus tracks.

The final album ‘Every Shade Of Love’ features another top five R&B chart smash, ‘Love Struck’ and again the bonus tracks feature the Dance Mix of this fantastic cut.

The package includes in depth sleeve notes by journalist Charles Waring who contributes to MOJO, Record Collector and uDiscovermusic.com.


Jesse Johnson Revue

1  Be Your Man

2  I Want My Girl

3  She Won't Let Go

4  Just Too Much

5  Let's Have Some Fun

6  Can You Help Me

7  Special Love

8  She's A Doll


9  Change Your Mind

10  Crazay (Featuring Sly Stone)

11  Baby Let's Kiss

12  A Better Way

13  Do Yourself A Favor

14  She (I Can't Resist)

15  Addiction

16  Tonite

17  Burn You Up


Shockadelica (Cont)

1  Black In America

Every Shade Of Love

2  Love Struck

3  So Misunderstood

4  I'm The One

5  Color Shock

6  Every Shade Of Love

7  Everybody Wants Somebody To Love

8  I'm Just Wanting You

9  Stop-Look-Listen

Bonus Tracks

10  Heart Too Hot To Hold (Feat Stephanie Spruill)

11  She (I Can’t Resist) (Remix)

12  Crazay (Extended Version) (Featuring Sly Stone)

13  Drive Yo Cadillac

14  Love Struck (Dance Mix)