Loading... 34 view(s) 10 min read

CHRIS FARLOWE | STORMY MONDAY - THE BLUES YEARS 1985-2008, 3CD DIGIPACK Coming in May From Strawberry!

CHRIS FARLOWE | STORMY MONDAY - THE BLUES YEARS 1985-2008, 3CD DIGIPACK Coming in May From Strawberry!

CHRIS FARLOWE | STORMY MONDAY - THE BLUES YEARS 1985-2008, 3CD DIGIPACK Coming in May From Strawberry!

  • 55-track 3CD collection focuses on the blues and R ‘n’ B recordings of Chris Farlowe from 1985 to 2008 demonstrating Farlowe’s powerful voice undiminished by the years since 1960s hits such as the chart topping ‘Out Of Time’.

After bringing the house down at clubs such as Soho’s mod hangout The Flamingo with his band The Thunderbirds and recording a 1965 version of ‘Stormy Monday Blues’ that has been called the greatest British blues record, Chris Farlowe signed to Immediate for a series of timeless solo hits before periods singing with Colosseum and Atomic Rooster.

In the 1980s he returned to the blues and Disc One features tracks drawn from Chris Farlowe & The Thunderbirds’ excellent albums ‘Out Of The Blue’ (1985) and ‘Born Again’ (1986), both produced by Mike Vernon, a pivotal figure in British blues, who produced John Mayall and Eric Clapton and founded the Blue Horizon label that released

Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac’s early albums. Farlowe’s version of the Green written ‘Man Of The World’ is also included and is one of many standouts here.

Disc Two cherry picks from Farlowe’s impressive solo albums ‘Waiting In The Wings’ (1992), ‘The Voice’ (1998), ‘Glory Bound’ (2000), ‘Farlowe That!’ (2003) and ‘Hotel

Eingang’ (2008). Highlights include Farlowe being joined by his friend Van Morrison, Farlowe’s brilliant version of his friends’ the Small Faces’ chart topper ‘All Or Nothing’ and a duet between Chris and Elkie Brooks on the Stax classic, ‘Private Number’. Paul Jones of Manfred Mann plays harmonica on a great take on Solomon Burke’s ‘Cry To Me’ and Humble Pie’s Clem Clempson plays guitar on ‘I Want To Do Everything For You’.

Disc Three includes 15 powerhouse live tracks with the Norman Baker Band, the Thunderbirds and with Roy Herrington and The Rhythm ‘N’ Blues Train. Chris revisits his hits ‘Out Of Time’ and ‘Handbags and Gladrags’ and gives definitive renditions of T Bone Walker’s ‘Stormy Monday’, B.B. King’s ‘Thrill Is Gone’ and Bobby Bland’s ‘Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City’.


Chris Farlowe & The Thunderbirds Studio Recordings 1985-1986

1  I Ain’t Superstitious

2  Gambler’s Blues

3  Them That’s Got (I Ain’t Got Nothin’ Yet)

4 Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

5  It’s All Wrong

6  Key To My Kingdom

7  The Thrill Is Gone

8  Watch Your Step

9 All The Way Lover

10  (Standing On) Shakey Ground

11  Into The Night

12  Starting All Over Again

13  Lonely Eyes

14  One Night Stand

15  Ain’t Got No Money

16  I’ve Been Born Again

17  Never Too Old

18  End Of The Line

19  I Stayed Away Too Long

20  Man Of The World


Chris Farlowe Studio Recordings 1991-2008

1  Rock And Roll Soldier

2  Livin’ It Up

3  I Want To Do Everything For You

4  Private Number (with Elkie Brooks)

5  All Or Nothing

6  Glory Bound

7  Gangster Of Love

8  Cry To Me

9  Trouble

10  A Matter Of Time

11  Ain’t No Big Deal

12  Lonesome Whistle

13  As Long As I Can See The Light

14  Sitting On Top Of The World (with Van Morrison)

15  It Should’ve Been Me

16  So Hard To Get Along With

17  I Only Have Love For You

18  That’s Why Lovers Have The Blues

19  Fog On The Highway

20  Blues Anthem


Chris Farlowe Live 1985-2004

1  I Don’t Want To Sing The Blues No More (Live)

2  Lonesome Road (Live)

3  Stormy Monday (Live)

4  All Or Nothing (Live)

5  I Think It’s Going To Rain Today (Live)

6  Easy As That (Live)

7  Out Of Time (Live)

8  Handbags And Gladrags (Live)

9  Thrill Is Gone (Live) *

10  Shakey Ground (Live) *

11  Chris’ Shuffle (Live) *

12  Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City (Live) *

13  Satisfy Susie (Live) **

14  Going Back To Louisiana (Live) **

15  (I’ve Been) Born Again (Live) **

*Chris Farlowe, Roy Herrington featuring The Rhythm ‘n’ Blues Train

** Chris Farlowe & The Thunderbirds