Northern Boys: Classics, Gems and Treastures from Talcum-Coated Dancefloor - Various Artists

Northern Boys: Classics, Gems and Treastures from Talcum-Coated Dancefloor
·       26 northern soul movers and groovers from a host of obscure American record labels gathered together to make an hour’s worth of infectious vintage dance music 
·       Including Charles Sheffield’s supreme ‘It’s Your Voodoo Working’ and prime cuts from Major Lance, Joe Simon, Freddie North, Ronnie Love and J.J. Jackson among others 
·       Featuring dusty gems and buried treasure from unlikely heroes Nolan Strong And The Diablos and Carl Lester And The Show Stoppers 
·       Filled with driving rhythms, air punching choruses and feet shuffling middle-eights on a string of 45s that touch on heartache, nervous stress and undying romanticism and vain attempts at love
·       Remastered from the original sound sources with sleevenotes by MOJO magazine’s Dave Henderson  
Our Price: £5.00
Retail Price: £9.95
Code: PSALM2374
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

1. IT'S YOUR VOODOO WORKING - Charles Sheffield
2. EVERY WHICHA KINDA WAY - Earl Connelly King
3. WHEN YOU SEE ME HURT - Carl Lester & The Show Stoppers
4. CHILLS & FEVER - Ronnie Love
5. I'M GOING HOME - Prince Conley
6. LET THE SHOW BEGIN – J.J. Jackson
7. I SEE YOUR FACE - Joe Simon
8. EARTHQUAKE - Roy Hamilton
9. PARTY STOMP - Egyptians
10. ANY WAY YOU WANTA - Harvey
12. JUST TO HOLD MY HAND - Earl Connelly
13. A CERTAIN GIRL - Ernie K Doe
14. YOU'D BETTER COME HOME - Russell Byrd
16. CHERRIGALE - Ed Townsend
17. THE FREEDOM RIDERS - Harold Jackson & The Jackson Brothers
18. HONKEY TONK WOMAN - The Fabulous Playboys
19. I'VE GOT A GIRL - Major Lance
20. SUPERMAN - Johnny Twovoice
21. THE KANGAROO - Charles Sheffield
22. CHARLIE CHAN - The Eventuals
23. IF I (COULD BE WITH YOU TONIGHT) - Nolan Strong & The Diablos
24. JUST TO PLEASE YOU - Freddie North
25. WIDE AWAKE IN A DREAM - Jerry Jackson
26. A MILLION TEARDROPS - Billy Beasley
No recommended products at the moment.
Northern Soul Legend
This CD features Herbert's recordings for Spar, Poncello and Ref-O- Ree records, as well as a handful of previously unreleased recordings produced by Fred James in the 1990s. Northern Soul fans truly covet and laud Herbert Hunter recordings and several of his 45s go for hundreds of dollars on the collectors market. Many of these were recorded with a group that would come to be known as the AREA CODE 615 band. These are the guys that played on Bob Dylan, Linda Ronstadt, Neil Young and Barefoot Jerry records, as well as many of Nashville's R&B hits at the time.Herbert even performed with AREA CODE 615 when they appeared at the Fillmore Ballroom in the late 1960s. Several sides also feature the legendary Johnny Jones and the Imperial Seven, Nashville's premier R&B band during the 1960s. The unreleased 1990s recordings feature members of The Roadrunners, The Amazing Rhythm Aces and Freddie & The Screamers.Herbert Hunter made his recording debut in 1961 on the Spar label with a cover of "Dr. Feelgood" that outsold the original. It was the Spar label's very first release and it put Herbert in good stead with the company and with Ted Jarrett, who would go on to produce every record that Herbert released for the next four decades. Herbert recorded prolifically for Spar and its subsidiaries Giant, Kenilworth, Caravelle and Hit. He recorded under his own name and as Leroy Jones, Marty & The Merits, Johnny Keaton and several other pseudonyms so as not to flood the market with Herbert Hunter records.In 1962 Ted Jarrett started his own label, Poncello Records, and recorded H erbert for that imprint as well. Poncello was short lived though and Herbert continued to record for the Spar group. In 1968 Ted started the Ref-O-Ree label and recorded two sides by Herbert that were never released at the time. He then recorded for Ted's T- Jaye label in the 1980s and 1990s. Our Price: £5.00
Retail Price: £9.95

click to see more

The Lost Voice Of Soul
The remarkable voice of TIMI YURO led many to believe she was either a man, or black, or both. They were shocked to find such a powerful voice eminating from such a petite singer. Rising to fame with HURT, Yuro had a long run of US hits on Liberty. This first UK compilation includes many of these, the pick of her albums and b-sides plus the Northern Soul rarity IT'LL NEVER BE OVER FOR ME.

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Songs that made him famous
A classic 1961 Cowboy Copas selection, previously unavailable on CD, featuring the country legend on a host of Burrito-inspiring gems
Plus the rest of Cowboy Copas’ country chart single hits from 1946 onwards, including the superb Alabam and the original version of Breeze
Featuring Copas’ distinctive vocal and his keen hankering for the melancholy as well as a handful of uptempo gems for good measure
21 tracks of soap opera relationship management done old school country style with some aching accompaniment
Filled with Tennessee charm with plenty of room for the inevitable remorse and a touch of well-timed tragedy.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Dancing By Myself - Lost In Northern Soul
•    Classic northern soul from the vaults including a host of small time gems from the plethora of early ‘60s indie labels in the States and beyond

•    Including the Latin boogaloo of Johnny Zamot, the marvellously named Johnny Appalachian’s breathtaking ‘Up In Smoke’ and The Van Dellos’ infectious ‘I Need You

•    With the invariably oddball Esquirita masquerading as Eskew Reeder for his take on ‘Green Door’ and The Five Royales’ aching opener ‘Catch That Teardrop

•    Remastered from original sound sources with sleevenotes by MOJO magazine’s Dave Henderson


1.    CATCH THAT TEARdrop – The Five Royales
2.    KEEP ON LOVING ME – Joe Stubbs
3.    WHAT I REALLY MEANT TO SAY – Don and Juan
5.    HONKY TONK WOMAN – The Fabulous Playboys
6.    BABY I'M COMING HOME – Mack Rice
7.    FEVER – The Knockouts    
8.    NO MORE HEART – Sylvia Hill    
9.    UP IN SMOKE – Johnny Appalchian
10.    HEY MAMA    - Johnny Zamot
11.    WATCH YOUR STEP – Bobby Parker
12.    GREEN DOOR- Eskew Reeder
13.    SUMMERTIME - Tommy Navarro And The Sundialers     
14.    DON'T DO THIS TO ME – Cicero Blake
15.    I'M HURTING – Billy Gales    
16.    THE TROUBLE WITH GIRLS (OF TODAY) – James Conwell    
18.    MISS ORANGATANG – Lincoln Chase
19.    THE WATUSI – The Vibrations    
20.    MY HEART IS ON FIRE – Billy Bland    
21.    WHAT HAVE I DONE     - Jimmy Rogers
22.    DANCE BY YOURSELF – Justin Jones    
23.    IF I NEVER GET TO LOVE YOU – Lou Johnson
24.    STOP KNOCKIN' – Juanita Nixon    
25.    I NEED YOU - The Van Dellos     
26.    PUT A RING ON MY FINGER – Sue Perrin    
27.    A FAT BOY CAN CRY – Billy Stewart

Our Price: £5.00
Retail Price: £9.95

click to see more


Righteous is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company