Looking - Danse Society

Cherry Red are pleased to announce the release of Danse Society's third and final studio album, ‘Looking Through’. Formed in Barnsley in 1980 from the remnants of local post-punk bands Y? and Lips-X, Danse Society comprised vocalist Steve Rawlings, bass player Tim Wright, guitarist Paul Nash, drummer Paul Gilmartin and keyboard player Lyndon Scarfe. Cherry Red is pleased that another of the enduring recordings of this astonishingly dramatic band is given the chance to breath again. The combination of sonic belligerence and a decorous, almost wistful touch will see that Danse Society will always be remembered as a band with a unique sense of style and musical occasion. The group's prior history is fully explored in two previous Cherry Red compilations, ‘Seduction (The Society Collection)’ and ‘Heaven Is Waiting’.
Our Price: £9.95
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

All I Want / Institution / Sunset Gun / Looking Through / Runaway / House Of Love / Don't Stop Now / Midnight Land
No recommended products at the moment.
New Musik formed in 1977 in London, growing out of a casual band of South London school friends who jammed together under the name End of the World. Songwriter and record producer Tony Mansfield was the lead vocalist and frontman for the band, and was joined in the original line-up by, bassist Tony Hibbert and drummer Phil Towner.Rather than immediately pursue a recording contract, New Musik chose to hone their craft first. Working during down times at a recording studio where Mansfield was informally employed as a session musician and apprentice sound engineer, the foursome recorded most of what would become their first two albums before approaching the UK record label, GTO Records with the finished master tapes.However, before GTO released the first New Musik single, Straight Lines, in August 1979, Straker had left for a solo career, He was replaced by Clive Gates, and the new line-up completed New Musik's debut album, From A to B, which was released in April 1980.New Musik made their first appearance on the BBC TV pop programme, Top of the Pops, in October 1979 with their debut Straight Lines, From A to B reached the Top 40 in the UK Albums Chart and contained four hit singles: Straight Lines, Living by Numbers, ThisWorld of Water and Sanctuary. The band also t opped the French singles chart with On Islands from the same album. The band's second album, Anywhere, was released in 1981 and reached #68 in the UK. The album's single releases, Luxury and While You Wait, did not chart.In 1981, a compilation album, Sanctuary, was released exclusively in the United States, consisting of four tracks from From A to B and eight from Anywhere
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Beat Boy
Released 16th February 2009. The first reissue of this seminal 1984 album 'Beat Boy', the third studio album recorded by the pioneers of the New Romantic movement, Visage.

This is the first time that the album has been available on CD in the UK. This album saw a change in musical direction with the introduction of new members to replace the departures of Midge Ure and Barry Adamson. The stylistic change saw the band move away from the band's electronic studio based sound to a more conventional band format. Visage were formed as supergroup of their day, formed by Steve Strange and ex-Rich Kid Rusty Egan, they recruited Billy Currie and Midge Ure from Ultravox, Dave Formula and Barry Adamson from Magazine and John McGeogh from Siouxsie & The Banshees. Members came and went but the band's core remained as Strange and Egan.

This CD reissue features 4 bonus tracks not included on the original 8 track release. These include extended mixes of the two singles taken from the album, 'Beat Boy' and 'Love Glove.

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Missing ] on field starting at 850

Inspired by the likes of My Bloody Valentine and Ride, Chapterhouse were part of the short-lived 'shoe-gazing' scene of the early 90's, but unlike other acts who acquired a set of guitar pedals and headed off to the nearest recording studio, they mixed beats with their wall-of-sonic-guitar-fuzz to create records to stimulate both mind and feet! Newly expanded reissue of their classic debut 'Whirpool', now with all the b-sides from the singles 'Pearl', 'Falling Down' and the 'Sunburst EP'. Produced by the band along side Robin Guthrie (Cocteau Twins), John Fryer (This Mortal Coil), Stephen Hague (New Order) and Ralph Jezzard, and featuring guest vocals from Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), with liner notes from music journalist and long-time associate Andrew Perry, along with the lyrics in full [documented here for the first time), photos, memorabilia and other clippings from the bands personal archive, and images of all of the releases featured on the album. Long deleted, original CDs of the album sell for £25+ on internet auction websites.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Blood Music
Expanded version of the long deleted second Chapterhouse album Blood Music. This is a new version of the album mixed especially for this release!! Original album now includes all 4 tracks from the Mesmerise EP, along with 2 additional songs from the We Are The Beautiful single. New booklet features liner notes from Electronica / Ambient DJ/artist Ulrich Schnauss (Independiente Records), along with image of related artwork, photos and memorabilia from the bands personal archive, plus lyrics in full. Produced by Ralph Jezzard (Wildhearts / EMF / Terrorvision), Pascal Gabriel (New Order / Kylie Minogue / Dido) and Paul Rabinger.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

The Danse Society were a very special band formed in the early 1980's. They experimented musically with sound and attitude and released their music through their own label, Society Records, a very bold move at that time. During the eighties, the Danse Society created a reputation for lush and atmospheric sounds that separated them from the rest of the gothic scene at the time. The innovative and creative use of keyboards was the element gave the band their distinctive sound. This is a collection of Danse Society's material from their early and most respected days on their own Society label. The backbone for the album is the ultra rare and collectable 'Seduction' album that was released in 1982 along with tracks from their highly acclaimed 12 singles Somewhere/ Hide and Woman's Own. Other tracks include their first single Clock with classics These Frayed Eyes and The Seduction also featured. All featured titles are available on CD for the first time. The CD features the original 'Seduction' LP cover along with the other sleeves from the Society Records period. Sleeve notes have been written by Danse Society keyboardist, Lyndon Scarfe and also included is a complete discography of the band.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Goth is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company