Little Red Record:2cd Expanded Edition - Matching Mole

Little Red Record:2cd Expanded Edition
Esoteric Recordings are proud to announce the release of a Deluxe 2CD Expanded edition of Matching Mole’s album "LITTLE RED RECORD”. Formed in 1971, Matching Mole originally featured former SOFT MACHINE drummer ROBERT WYATT, former CARAVAN keyboard player DAVE SINCLAIR, guitarist PHIL MILLER, bassist BILL McCORMICK with guest keyboard player DAVE MacRAE. Their wonderful self-titled debut album was recorded between December 1971 and February 1972, following which DAVE SINCLAIR departed, with DAVE MacRAE assuming a full time role within the band. "LITTLE RED RECORD” was Matching Mole’s second marvellous album, recorded in August 1972 and was produced by KING CRIMSON leader ROBERT FRIPP. This Esoteric Recordings edition has been newly remastered from the original master tapes and is expanded to include four previously unreleased studio session alternate takes and Matching Mole’s appearance on BBC Radio One "In Concert” in July 1972. The booklet restores all original artwork and includes an essay by Sid Smith.


"On Little Red Record, more of a collective effort than its mellotron-soaked predecessor, we hear the full skit that would, in edited form, kick off the finished record. And if it sounds like they're having a blast, it's in no small part because one of the voices belongs to Alfie, Robert's new girlfriend..." (4/5*)

Jazzwise - Marcus O'Dair (July 2012)

Our Price: £10.95
Code: ECLEC22312
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

The Original Album Remastered  - Starting In The Middle Of The Day We Can Drink Our Politics Away / Marchides / Nan True’s Hole / Righteous Rhumba  / Brandy As In Benj  / Gloria Gloom  / God Song  / Flora Fidgit  / Smoke Signal Instant Pussy / Lithing And Gracing  / Marchides  / Part Of The Dance  / Brandy As In Benj  Bbc Radio One "In Concert” Session  Recorded At The Paris Theatre, London  27th July 1972  / Starting In The Middle Of The Day We Can  Drink Our Politics Away (Take One)  / Smoke Signal (Take Four) / Flora Fidget (Take Eight) / Mutter  -Recorded At Cbs Studios, London - August 1972  Previously Unreleased
No recommended products at the moment.
Released 29/06/09. Released in 1969, the eponymous album by Circus was one of the first Progressive Rock releases on the Transatlantic label, until that time primarily known as a leading Folk and Folk Rock imprint. Circus featured saxophonist and flautist Mel Collins (later to join King Crimson And Camel), along with Ian Jeff (guitar, vocals), Kirk Riddle (bass) and Chris Burrows (drums). An excellent jazz influenced Progressive work, the album featured a notable cover of Lennon & McCartney's 'Norwegian Wood' and is now a highly desirable collector's item among Progressive rock aficionados. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

The Rotters’ Club
Released 27/07/09. Recorded for Virgin Records in 1974, The Rotters Club was the second album by the band comprising former Caravan member Richard Sinclair, keyboard player Dave Stewart, guitarist Phil Miller and drummer Pip Pyle. Regarded as one of the finest albums in the Canterbury genre, the album also featured guest appearances by such luminaries as Jimmy Hastings and Mont Campbell. This Esoteric Recordings reissue adds material included on the 1980 compilation Afters and on the Over the Rainbow live album from 1975. The re-mastered reissue also includes a booklet featuring restored artwork and notes by Sid Smith. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

I’ve Always Wanted To Do This
Released 25/08/08. Esoteric Recordings are proud to release this classic Jack Bruce album from 1980, the result of a unique collaboration between Bruce and musicians Billy Cobham, Clem Clempson and David Sancious. A wonderful album of diversity, it saw Jack truly on form with such wonderful songs as ‘Hit And Run', ‘Livin' Without Ja', ‘Dancing on Air' and ‘Bird Alone', all written with long time collaborator Pete Brown. An overlooked gem from Jack Bruce's catalogue, the album receives an official UK CD release for the first time. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more


Esoteric Recordings are proud to release the classic 1978 album Way of the Sun by Jadewarrior. This wonderful band first came to attention with a clutch of albums recorded for Vertigo Records in the early 1970's. By 1974 they had become the vision of flautist Jon Field and guitarist Tony Duhig and had signed to Island Records. Noted by Chris Blackwell as one of his favourite groups, the four albums recorded by JADE WARRIOR for Island were classic ambient works, stunning in their beauty and power. KITES was JADEWARRIOR s third fine album for the label, and remains an outstanding listening experience. This Esoteric Recordings reissue has been re-mastered from the original tapes and fully restores the original album artwork.
Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Samurai' is truly a lost classic of the Progressive era. Released on the short lived Greenwich Gramophone label in 1972, the album was influenced by the experiments of groups such as King Crimson, Gentle Giant et al, but was more than a mere clone of these bands. Evolving from the equally excellent band Web (whose album 'I Spider' is a classic of the genre), the musicianship on the album was excellent and Keyboard player Dave Lawson's compositions were groundbreaking and memorable. Sadly the group disbanded shortly after the release of the record resulting in limited sales. However, the influence of the album was not lost as both Dave Lawson and Tony Reeves soon joined Dave Greenslade to form the group Greenslade, effectively taking up the musical mantle laid down by Samurai. This Esoteric reissue features a booklet with previously unseen photographs and an interview with Dave Lawson. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more


Esoteric is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company