THE MANTICORE RECORDS ANTHOLOGY 1973 - 1976 Various Artists - Various Artists

Manticore Records was the legendary imprint established by Emerson
Lake & Palmer in 1973 for the purposes of releasing new ELP related
material, but also to promote the work of artists admired by the band.
The label was active for just over three years, but during this time the
imprint released a series of wonderful albums by artists such as the
Italian groups PFM and Banco, the US bands Stray Dog and Thee Image,
along with classic music by ELP and King Crimson lyricist Pete Sinfield,
and singer-songwriter Keith Christmas.Manticore also served as
the home for the classic ELP albums Brain Salad Surgery and Welcome Back
My Friends to the Show That Never Ends and solo hit singles by Greg
Lake and Keith Emerson.Envelopes of Yesterday tells the musical
story of Manticore Records and features a selection of some of the
finest music released by the label, including seven tracks by Emerson
Lake & Palmer, Greg Lake & Keith Emerson. The collection is
accompanied by a lavish booklet which features a new essay, rare
photographs and label memorabilia.
Our Price: £13.95
Code: MANTCD21013
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

DISC ONE 1.Jerusalem EMERSON LAKE & PALMER 2. River of Life P.F.M. 3. Foothills KEITH CHRISTMAS 4. The Night People PETE SINFIELD 5. Mister Music Maker HANSON 6. Tramp (How it is) STRAY DOG 7. Karn Evil 9 2nd Impression Part Two EMERSONLAKE & PALMER 8. Brighter Day KEITH CHRISTMAS 9. Still PETE SINFIELD 10. The Mountain P.F.M. 11. Rocky Mountain Suite (Bad Road)STRAY DOG 12. When the Apple Blossoms Bloom in the Windmillsof Your Mind, I ll Be Your Valentine EMERSONLAKE & PALMER 13. Show Your Love THEE IMAGE DISC TWO 1.Smokin to the Big MHANSON2. Hoedown (live) EMERSON LAKE & PALMER3. The World Became the World P.F.M.4. Tomorrow Never EndsKEITH CHRISTMAS5. Fly Away THEE IMAGE6. Outside BANCO7. Take a Pebble / (Still) You Turn Me On / LuckyMan (live) EMERSON LAKE & PALMER8. WorldwindsSTRAY DOG9. Rocking Horse Man HANSON10. The Astronaut (Who Wouldn t Come Down)KEITH CHRISTMAS11. I Believe in Father Christmas GREG LAKE12. Harlequin P.F.M.13. Honky Tonk Train Blues KEITH EMERSON
No recommended products at the moment.
Dark Ships
Esoteric Recordings are pleased to release the Brand New Studio Album by Jan Schelhaas, whose playing and writing has graced both Caravan and Camel over the years. Noted for his compositions captured and hymn to her for camel, Schelhaas at last records an album of his own music. Featuring guest appearances from Doug Boyle and Jimmy Hastings, Dark Ships follows in the tradition of the Canterbury sound, albeit with more ambient influences. Jan has delivered a well crafted album which is certain to appeal to fans of Caravan, Camel and followers of the so-called Canterbury sound. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Nova Solis
New Re-mastered CD Release for this Progressive Rock Album from 1972 Featuring Morgan Fisher. Booklet With Photos & Liner Notes. Morgan was formed in 1971 and featured the combined talents of Morgan Fisher, Maurice Bacon, Tim Staffell And Bob Sapsed. A progressive rock outfit in the style of Emerson Lake & Palmer, the band signed to RCA Records in Italy for whom they recorded this classic Progressive Rock album in 1972. Virtually unknown in their homeland, in Italy Morgan became a successful group alongside their compatriots Elp, Van Der Graaf Generator and Genesis with the success of Nova Solis . This newly re-mastered edition of the album features notes from Morgan Fisher and restores the original album artwork for the first time on a UK CD release.
Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Cave Of Clear Light: The Pye and Dawn Records Underground 1967-1975
Released on 25/01/10. Cave Of Clear Light is a 3CD Anthology that tells the story of the Underground years of the Pye record label and its Progressive imprint Dawn Records. Often unfairly seen as a poor relation to the Progressive and Underground releases by major labels such as Decca, Harvest, Vertigo, Island and United Artists, Pye Records also released many albums and singles by artists who were at the forefront of the Underground rock explosion of the late 1960 s and early 1970 s. Cave Of Clear Light re-appraises the labels output and features tracks by artists such as Donovan, Status Quo, Man, Atomic Rooster and Fruupp, also including many rare tracks by highly collectable artists such as Jonesy, David Mcwilliams, Stray, Paul Brett's Sage, Fire, Titus Groan, Demon Fuzz, Noir, Comus, Gravy Train, Writing On The Wall and many more. With an extensive book featuring information on all the artists featured and the story of Pye's Progressive period and the birth of Dawn Records, this anthology joins the series of acclaimed compilations by Mark Powell such as Strangely St range, But Oddly Normal - Island anthology; Time Machine. - Vertigo anthology; Legend of a Mind - Decca / Deram anthology; A Breath of Fresh Air - Harvest anthology and Refugees - Charisma anthology to tell the story of a major label in transition during a momentous period of change for British popular music. Our Price: £16.99

click to see more

Time Will Pass
Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the first ever official UK release of the album on CD "Time Will Pass” by the legendary Progressive Folk Rock group SPRIGUNS.
Formed in 1972, the band was originally known as Spriguns of Tolgus and were formed by Mike and Mandy Morton. The band’s debut album was produced by Tim Hart of Steeleye Span and brought them to the attention of Decca Records for whom the album "Revel Weird and Wild” was recorded in 1976. By this time the band were known as Spriguns and had become more rock influenced.
The album "Time Will Pass” followed in 1977 and was perhaps the band’s finest hour, featuring a line-up of Mandy Morton (Vocals, Acoustic Guitar), Wayne Morrison (Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitars, Mandolin, Vocals), Dick Powell (Electric Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals), Mike Morton (bass, vocals) and Dennis Dunstan (Drums). The sessions also featured orchestral arrangements by Robert Kirby, famed for his work with Nick Drake.
Rare and highly sought after by collectors, this Esoteric Recordings reissue of "Time Will Pass” has been newly remastered from the original Decca master tapes and includes a booklet that fully restores all original album artwork.

Release Date: 28/1/2013
Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Child Song
Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of a newly remastered edition of the classic197O Jazz Rock album by legendary Trumpet virtuoso HENRY LOWTHER and his band.
Henry Lowther’s trumpet and violin playing has graced some of the greatest music to hail from Britain. His work with MIKE WESTBROOK, JOHN DANKWORTH, NEIL ARDLEY, BOB DOWNES and MIKE GIBBS in the Jazz world is fondly regarded, as is his work with JOHN MAYALL, JACK BRUCE, THE KEEF HARTLEY BAND and CCS, along with notable guest appearances with HAWKLORDS, BUZZCOCKS and TALK TALK.
"Child Song” was recorded for Decca’s DERAM imprint in 1970 and featured a band comprising HENRY LOWTHER (Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Violin), DARYL RUNSWICK (Bass, Double Bass), MIKE McNAUGHT (Electric Piano), JIMMY JEWELL (Tenor Sax), TONY ROBERTS (Tenor Sax, Bass Clarinet) and MIKE TRAVIS (Drums, Percussion). The album was a fine example of Jazz Rock fusion and was one of the most imaginative of the era.
Now highly sought after by collectors, this Esoteric Recordings release has been newly remastered from the original master tapes and includes an illustrated booklet and a new essay.

Release Date: 27/05/2013
Our Price: £10.95

click to see more


Esoteric is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company