The Rotters’ Club - Hatfield and The North

The Rotters’ Club
Released 27/07/09. Recorded for Virgin Records in 1974, The Rotters Club was the second album by the band comprising former Caravan member Richard Sinclair, keyboard player Dave Stewart, guitarist Phil Miller and drummer Pip Pyle. Regarded as one of the finest albums in the Canterbury genre, the album also featured guest appearances by such luminaries as Jimmy Hastings and Mont Campbell. This Esoteric Recordings reissue adds material included on the 1980 compilation Afters and on the Over the Rainbow live album from 1975. The re-mastered reissue also includes a booklet featuring restored artwork and notes by Sid Smith.
Our Price: £10.95
Code: ECLEC2140
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

Share It / Lounging There Trying / (Big) John Wayne Socks Psychology On The Jaw / Chaos At The Greasy Spoon / The Yes / No Interlude / Fitter Stoke Has A Bath / Didn't Matter Anyway / Underdub / Mumps / Your Majesty Is Like A Cream Donut (Quiet) / Lumps / Prenut / Your Majesty Is Like A Cream Donut (Loud)/ Bonus Tracks -(Big) John Wayne Socks Psychology On The Jaw / Chaos At The Greasy Spoon / Halfway Between Heaven And Earth (live) / Oh, Len's Nature! (live) / Lything And Gracing (Live)
No recommended products at the moment.
Lie Back And Enjoy It

Formed out of the ashes of the legendary group The Misunderstood, by the time the band recorded this, their second album, the group featured Paul Williams (vocals, piano), Glen Campbell (steel guitar), Chris Mercer (saxophone), Mickey Moody (guitar), Keith Ellis (bass) and Rod Coombes (drums).

One of the first signings to Vertigo Records, Juicy Lucy’s second album was a fine work and spawned their classic interpretation of Frank Zappa’s Willie the Pimp. This Esoteric Recordings reissue has been re-mastered from the original tapes and fully restores the original album artwork and features the bonus track I’m a Thief.

Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce a new official Re-mastered release of the classic 1975 self- titled debut album by Gilgamesh.These Canterbury stylists were formed in 1972 with the core of the band built around Alan Gowen on keyboards and Mike Travis on drums. At various times the line-up included former caravan and hatfield & the north member Richard Sinclair, Mont Campbell (formerly of Egg) and Neil MurrayThe group’s debut album was recorded for Virgin’s Caroline label in 1975 and featured a line-up of Alan Gowen (keyboards), Phil Lee (guitar), Jeff Clyne (bass) and Mike Travis (drums). Unavailable on CD for over ten years, Gilgamesh is a classic of the Canterbury style and is sure to be a much sought after release by all aficionados of the genre. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Space Cabaret
Released 24/11/08. Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of Space Cabaret by CMU, the band s final album from 1973, this unique masterpiece is a much sought after collectors item originally released on the Transatlantic label. CMU (Contemporary Music Unit) were a unique fusion of Progressive rock, Jazz and Folk influences. Following on from their debut Open Spaces, CMU changed line-ups and recruited Leary Hasson on Mellotron from label mates Marsupilami. Space Cabaret was CMU s masterwork which was fully in keeping with the mood of the times. In Larraine Odell, CMU had one of the few female vocalists of the Progressive era, a fine vocalist supported by a fine band. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Mercator Projected
A milestone in the birth of 'progressive' rock, East of Eden's debut album, 'Mercator Projected' has been cited by Mojo magazine as a minor masterpiece. Released on the legendary Deram label in 1969, the album established East of Eden as a major act, particularly in France, where the band had several Top Ten singles and major album success. An imaginative fusion of jazz, psychedelia and world music, 'Mercator Projected' has been re-mastered from the original master tapes and features twenty minutes of bonus material, including previously unreleased extended demo versions of ‘Waterways' and ‘In The Stable of the Sphynx' and East of Eden's take on The Byrds' classic ‘Eight Miles High'. All original artwork has been restored and the booklet features many unseen photographs and memorabilia. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

East of Eden's second album, 'Snafu' was originally released in 1970 by Deram Records and saw the band take their particular fusion of jazz, psychedelia, world music and even blue beat, one step further. As ever, the instrumental prowess of Dave Arbus on violin dominated the music, leading eventually to Arbus playing the infamous violin solo on 'Baba O'Reilly' by The Who. 'Snafu' was the result of many months in the studio, before being shelved in favour of starting work on a fresh project. This Esoteric Recordings reissue has been remastered from the original master tapes and features many unreleased bonus tracks, including five previously unreleased tracks from the aborted album sessions and alternate demo and single versions of their 1971 hit, 'Jig-A-Jig'. An extensive essay features interviews and previously unseen photographs. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more


Esoteric is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company