End Of The World - Aphrodite’s Child

End Of The World
End Of The World by Greek Psych / Prog legends Aphrodite's Child. Formed in 1967 by keyboard player VANGELIS, the band also featured Demis Roussos on bass and vocals and Lucas Sideras on Drums. Their classic debut album was released in 1968 and featured the international hit Rain and Tears , partially inspired by Procol Harum's A Whiter Shade of Pale. However, the album revealed a more experimental side to the Band's nature with such Psychedelic gems as The Grass is No Green, You Always Stand in My Way and Day of the Fool. This Esoteric Recordings reissue has been re-mastered from the original tapes and includes both sides of Aphrodite's Child's first single as bonus tracks.
Our Price: £10.95
Code: ECLEC2205
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

End Of The World / Don’t Try To Catch A River / Mister Thomas / Rain And Tears / The Grass Is No Green / The Valley Of Sadness / You Always Stand In My Way / The Shepherd And The Moon / Day Of The Fool / Bonus Tracks- Plastics Nevermore / The Other People
No recommended products at the moment.
Morning stands on tiptoe
Released on 17/08/09. Though Toni Arthur is probably most widely remembered these days as the vivacious presenter of 1970s children's TV shows Playschool and Playaway, she and her husband Dave first came to prominence during the 1960s British folksong revival.

Released by the Transatlantic label in 1967, Dave and Toni Arthur's debut LP Morning Stands On Tiptoe remains a cornerstone album of the genre, a work of astonishing power and vitality that introduced a whole raft of traditional songs to the thriving British folk club scene. Taken from the original master tapes, this definitive reissue of a seminal album comes complete with a 16-page booklet that includes new liner notes, fresh quotes and a reproduction of Dave and Toni's original notes on each song together with some stunning, previously unpublished photos of the duo.

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Fat Mattress ll – Expanded Edition
Released 29/06/09. 'Fat Mattress II' was the second album by the band formed by jimi hendrix Experience bass guitarist Noel Redding. Recorded in late 1969, the album followed on in style from the band's debut album (also released this month on Esoteric). Issued in 1970 the album failed to get the attention it deserved at the time of release but has subsequently been hailed as a classic of the era. This Esoteric reissue has six bonus tracks taken from the unreleased third Fat Mattress album. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Let’s Live For Today: The Rokes In English 1966-68
The Rokes were Brits who went to Italy in 1963 and became one of the biggest bands in the land for the rest of the decade. They chalked up numerous Italian language hits and recorded four albums as well as becoming an enormous live draw and TV favourites. However, scattered across those albums were a number of English language songs that somehow came off sounding like a Euro-tinged blend of The Beatles, Hollies, Kinks and Pretty Things. In ’67, The Rokes released the first English language version of ‘Let’s Live For Today’, a song they’d already cut in Italian. It went on to become a huge US hit in the hands of The Grass Roots and was covered by scores of bands. Rollicking beat gems like ‘No No No’ and ‘Ride On’ slowly morphed into more sophisticated fayre such as the sitar-drenched ‘Ripe Apples’ and the sinister psychedelic rocker ‘When The Wind Arises’, both of which were released in the UK in a belated attempt to break them here. Here, for the first time on CD, are virtually all of The Rokes’ English language recordings from 1966 to 1968. Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Groups & Sessions 65-74
Keith West is best remembered as the voice behind the legendary 'Grocer Jack' single Excerpt From A Teenage Opera, became a champion of both the pop charts and the 60's psychedelic lifestyle. Away from the pin-up-mags Keith also made a serious impression on the underground scene with Tomorrow. Keith enjoyed a wonderful and varied career, this compilation charts his progress through the 1960's and into the '70's with a remarkable collection of rare and previously unissued tracks. Ranging from Four + One, the In Crowd, with guitarist Steve Howe (who, when they became Tomorrow wrote two songs for the cult sixties thriller Blow Up, which appear here for the very first time) to both Teenage Opera Singles.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Shout! – Complete Decca Recordings
Released 18/05/09. First-ever collection of Lulu’s
complete recordings for Decca from 1964 to 1967. Includes the Top 10
hits ‘Shout!’ (here in its rarer mono single variation) and ‘Leave A
Little Love’, plus other hits ‘Here Comes The Night’ and ‘Try To
Understand’. Sleeve-notes include new quotes from Lulu. Includes two
rare German language tracks. Great value with 42 tracks taken from two
albums, a scarce EP and a raft of singles. Several tracks include
session work from the legendary Jimmy Page. ‘Surprise, Surprise’ was an
exclusive Jagger/Richards composition.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Esoteric is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company