João Gilberto - João Gilberto

João Gilberto
The third album in João Gilberto’s trilogy of blueprints for bossa nova, following his celebrated 1959 debut, Chega de Saudade (ACMEM179CD) and its sequel, O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor (Love, a Smile and a Flower) (ACMEM201CD) which followed a year later.

Produced by Antonio Carlos Jobim and Walter Wanderley, "João Gilberto” combines a splendid bossa nova repertoire of Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes and Carlos Lyra originals such as Insensatez (How Insensitive), Este seu olhar (That Look You Wear) and Voce e eu (You and Me) with Gilberto's interpretations of songs from Brazil's musical past; Saudade de Bahia (Longing for Bahia) and O Samba da minha terra (Samba of My Land) by Dorival Caymmi, and Geraldo Pereira's Bolinha de Papel (Little Paper Ball).

The performances of these enchanting songs display the full range of João Gilberto’s singular style; the intimate voice and his innovative, linear approach to the guitar that revolutionized Brazilian music and the international pop scene. Our edition comprises the original (long out of print) "João Gilberto” album supplemented by performances of songs from the trilogy by such important and diverse con-temporaries as Carlos Lyra, Walter Wanderley, Leny Andrade, Oscar Castro Neves, Agostingo dos Santos, Sylvia Telles, Lucio Alves, Maysa and Jon Hendricks.
Our Price: £9.95
Code: ACMEM223CD
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

Samba da Minha Terra (Samba of My Land)  / O Barquinho (The Little Boat)  / Bolinha de Papel (Little Paper Ball)  / Saudade da Bahia (Longing for Bahia)  / A Primeira Vez (The First Time)  / O amor em paz (Love and Peace)  / Você e Eu (You and I)  / Trenzinho - Trem de Ferro (Little Train of Iron)  / Coisa Mais linda (Most Beautiful Thing)  / Presente de Natal (Christmas Present)  / Insensatez (How Insensitive) / Este seu olhar (That Look You Wear) / O Barquinho (The Little Boat) - Maysa  / Você e Eu (You and I) - Maysa  / Bim Bom - Oscar Castro Neves  / Meditacao (Meditation) - Oscar Castro Neves / Só em Teus braços (Only In Your Arms) - Oscar Castro Neves  / O samba da minha terra (Samba of My Land) – Lucio Alves  / Samba de Uma Nota só (One-Note Samba) – Leny Andrade / O Baraquino (The Little Boat) - Agostinho Dos Santos  / O Barquinho (The Little Boat) - Walter Wanderley  / O Samba Da Minha Terra (Samba of My Land) - Walter Wanderley / Saudade da Bahia (Longing for Bahia) - Walter WanderleY  / Aos pés da Cruz (At the Foot of the Cross) - Walter Wanderley / Coisa mais Linda (Most Beautiful Thing) – Carlos Lyra / Você e eu (You and I) – Carlos Lyra  / Manhã de Carnival (Morning of the Carnival) – Sylvia Telles & Barney Kessel /  Quiet Nights (Corcovado) - Jon Hendricks / You and I (Você e eu) - Jon Hendricks / Love and Peace (O Amor em paz) - Jon Hendricks / Longing for Bahia (Saudade da Bahia) - Jon Hendricks / Little Train of Iron (Trenzinho - Trem de ferro) - Jon Hendricks / No More Blues (Chega de saudade) - Jon Hendricks / The Duck (O Pato) - Jon Hendricks / Once Again (Outra vez) - Jon Hendricks
No recommended products at the moment.
No recommended products at the moment.

El is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company