O Amor, O Sorriso E A Flor - João Gilberto

O Amor, O Sorriso E A Flor
Amor, o sorriso è a flor (Love, a Smile, and a Flower) is the second in the trilogy of formative bossa nova albums released by João Gilberto between 1959 and 1961 (Chega de saudade ACMEM 179CD being the first).

These albums are quite literally the aesthetic and musical blueprints for a genre that would exert an irresistible worldwide influence on popular music. Our edition features the original (long out of print) classic album in its entirety and original packaging. It includes Joao's historic, first performances of such masterpieces as Samba de uma nota só (One Note Samba), Meditação (Meditation), O pato, Corcovado, Discussão and Outra vez (One More Time)

The album is augmented by rare recordings of some of the famous songs of both O Amor, o sorriso è a flor Chega de Saudade by such important contemporaries as Sergio Mendes, Walter Wanderley, Sylvia Telles, Carlos Lyra, Alaide Costa, Agostinho Dos Santos, Isaura Garcia, Os Cariocas and Luiz Eca

In 1962 Gilberto moved to the United States where he and Stan Getz recorded the million-selling Getz / Gilberto for Creed Taylor¹s Verve; an LP which featured a song (sung by João's then wife Astrud) that was to become one of the most popular of the twentieth century, the Jobim-Vinícius composition, La Garota de Ipanema (The Girl from Ipanema).

The reclusive João Gilberto is the "Great Master" of bossa nova; His art both enigmatic and timeless. He has worked with the Tropicalistas, Gilberto Gil and Caetano Veloso and influenced generations of arrangers, musicians and singers

Our Price: £9.95
Code: acmem201cd
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba) / Doralice / Só Em Teus Braços (Only In Your Arms) / Trevo De Quatro Folhas (I'm Looking Over A Four-Leaf Clover) /Se É Tarde Me Perdoa (Forgive Me If It's Too Late) / Um Abraço No Bonfá (A Hug For Bonfá) / Meditação (Meditation) / O Pato (The Duck) / Corcovado / Discussão (Discussion) / Amor Certinho (Certain Love) / Outra Vez (One More Time) / Outra Vez (One More Time) Sergio Mendes / Ho-Ba-La-La - Sergio Mendes / Sylvia Telles - Corcovado / Ho-Ba-La-La / Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba) / O Pato (The Duck) Walter Wanderley / Isaura Garcia And Walter Wanderley - Corcovado / Mike Falcao (Walter Wanderley) - Aos Pes Da Cruz (At The Foot Of The Cross) / Agostino Dos Santos - Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba) / Desafinado (Off-Key) / Chega De Saudade (No More Blues) / Manhã De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival) / A Felicidade (Happiness) / Orquestra Rio De Janeiro - A Felicidade (Happiness) / Discussão (Discussion) Alaide Costa / A Felicidade (Happiness) - Macielsilvio Silveira - Bim Bom / É Luxo Só (It's Just A Luxury) / Maria Ninguém (Maria Nobody) Carlos Lyra / Maria Ninguém (Maria Nobody) Heraldo Do Monte / Orquestra Pan American With Os Cariocas - Brigas Nunca Mais (Fights, Never More) / Chega De Saudade (No More Blues) / Luiz Eça & Astor Silva - Meditação (Meditation)
No recommended products at the moment.
No recommended products at the moment.

El is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company