Loose Lips Might Sink Ships - Greasy Instrumental Magic from the vault of Lux and Ivy - Various Artists

Loose Lips Might Sink Ships - Greasy Instrumental Magic from the vault of Lux and Ivy
Distorted guitars, wailing saxophones, weird keyboard breaks, the sound of alien spacecraft, buzzsaws and reving engines all feature on this 26 track collection of instrumental masterpieces.
From rare and obscure sounds spliced with screams and thunder through to classic grooves by Cozy Cole, Link Wray and Duane Eddy, this set celebrates the genius of rock ‘n’ roll as spun on Lux Interior’s Purple Knife Show.
Duelling guitars and one liners on switchblades and pick-ups add to the sleazy vibe that emanate on this hour long set.
Featuring vintage, exotic riffs, ear-bending special effects and some of the twangiest guitars ever. Transport yourself to the jukebox at any early ’60s Vegas dive. Remastered from original sound sources with sleevenotes by MOJO magazine’s Dave Henderson.
Available 19/08/2013
Our Price: £9.95
Code: PSALM2373
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

1. THE SNAKE - Maximillian
2. MARCH SLAV BOOGIE - Homer Denison Jr
3. DRAGONFLY - Tommy Dee & The Mellotones
4. STICK SHIFT - The Duals
5. JAVA GUITARS - Tielman Brothers
6. BUZZSAW TWIST - The Gee-Cees
7. MOON DAWG! - The Gamblers
8. ROAD BLOCK - The Teen Rockers
9. SCORPION - The Carnations
12. FIREWATER - Premieres
13. COMANCHE - Link Wray & The Wraymen
14. STAMPEDE - The Scarlets
15. LIKE THUNDER - The Rialtos
16. TELSTAR - The Tornados
17. HARLEM NOCTURNE - The Viscounts
18. DESERT BOOTS - The Vi-Kings
19. SWITCHBLADE - Ron Thompson His Rowdy Guitar And The Brougham's
20. RAMROD - Duane Eddy
21. PICK UP - The Corvettes
22. MANHUNT - Dynamos
23. CAMEL WALK - The Saxons
24. SHEBA - Johnny & The Hurricanes
25. THE VULTURE - Ronnie Ray's Playboys
26. CATERPILLAR CRAWL - The Strangers

No recommended products at the moment.
Revelation – Re-mastered and Expanded Edition
Hard Way To Die / Grasshopper / Rock And Roll You Out / You Don't Like Us / Bedtime Bone / One More Chance / Rainbow Eyes /Day And Night / Previously unreleased bonus tracks- Grasshopper (First Mix) / Rock And Roll You Out (First Mix) / Hard Way To Die (B-Side Of Single) / Somebody's Calling (Live 1975) / Many Are Called, But Few Get Up (Live 1975) / a hard way to live (live 1975) Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

2 oz’s Plastic with a Hole in the Middle
Released 25/05/09. Following the well received reissues of MAN's United Artists label catalogue in 2008, Esoteric Recordings continue their series of MAN reissues with '2 oz's Plastic with a Hole in the Middle'. Originally released in September 1969 on Pye Records' progressive label, Dawn, the album was the band's second work. A fabulous blend of psychedelia and acid rock, the classic set featured such classics as ‘Spunk Rock' (mistakenly titled ‘Spunk Box' by Pye Records), ‘It Is As It Must Be' and ‘The Storm'. Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Race With The Devil, reached the UK Top Ten in December 1968, it catapulted power trio the Gun from the bowels of the London underground club circuit to the forefront of the British pop scene. Released a couple of months later, the group s self-titled debut album boasted an equally dazzling, idiosyncratic combination of hard rock ferocity and striking orchestral arrangements, and it can now be seen as a major stepping stone in the gradual metamorphosis of late 60s psychedelic rock into what would become known as heavy metal. This newly re-mastered reissue features contemporaneous single releases, rare photos and fresh quotes from founder member Paul Gurvitz.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Nobody Sings Dylan Like Dylan – As Good As I Been To You The World Gone Wrong
23 track collection pulling together the original versions of tracks covered by Bob Dylan on his two blues albums, ‘Good As I Been To You' from 1992 and ‘World Gone Wrong from 12 months later.

Plus original versions of songs unreleased from those sessions plus the version of ‘You Belong To Me', by Gene Vincent, that was included on the soundtrack to Natural Born Killers.

Including classic songs from the legendary Mississippi Sheiks, Blind Blake, The Carter Family, Robert Johnson and William Brown.

With sleeve-notes from MOJO's Dave Henderson

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

The keenly awaited follow up to the innovative and ground-breaking compilations - Songs For Mario’s Café and Songs For The Dog And Duck.          

Compiled with knowledge and TLC by Bob Stanley… this is a glorious slice of life from those halcyon Pre-Rock days.          
Features many era defining artists and household names such as Frankie Laine, Al Martino, Dickie Valentine, Eddie Calvert and Peggy Lee.          

The audio delight is accompanied by a jam-packed booklet featuring many label shots and some gorgeous ephemera.          
Transport yourself back to a less complicated time and pour yourself a nice cup of tea and then crank up the volume on your gramophone…   

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Cherry Red is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company