Five Symbols - Roky Erickson and the Aliens

Five Symbols
The HORROR-STRUCK ROCK ‘N’ ROLL MADNESS OF ROKY ERICKSON. The 1980 album from former 13th Floor Elevators’ main man hailed in MOJO magazine as a buried treasure kicks of the label’s Buried Treasure series.   Featuring the original ten tracks plus two additional Erickson originals from the period. An insight into the ‘scrambled brain’ of this rock genius’ bizarre and often brilliant solo career. Obsessed with sci fi and horror images, this gritty gem covers Satan, Lucifer, Alligators, Vampires, Demons and Zombies along the way.   With extensive sleevenotes and an introduction by MOJO editor Phil Alexander.
Our Price: £9.95
Code: MOJOCD1003
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

Two-Headed Dog (Red Temple Prayer)  / I Think Of Demons  / I Walked With A Zombie / Don't Shake Me Lucifer  / Night Of The Vampire  / White Faces  / Cold Night For Alligators  / Creature With The Atom Brain  / Mine Mine Mind / Stand For The Fire Demon  / The Wind And More / Bloody Hammer
No recommended products at the moment.
New Musik formed in 1977 in London, growing out of a casual band of South London school friends who jammed together under the name End of the World. Songwriter and record producer Tony Mansfield was the lead vocalist and frontman for the band, and was joined in the original line-up by, bassist Tony Hibbert and drummer Phil Towner.Rather than immediately pursue a recording contract, New Musik chose to hone their craft first. Working during down times at a recording studio where Mansfield was informally employed as a session musician and apprentice sound engineer, the foursome recorded most of what would become their first two albums before approaching the UK record label, GTO Records with the finished master tapes.However, before GTO released the first New Musik single, Straight Lines, in August 1979, Straker had left for a solo career, He was replaced by Clive Gates, and the new line-up completed New Musik's debut album, From A to B, which was released in April 1980.New Musik made their first appearance on the BBC TV pop programme, Top of the Pops, in October 1979 with their debut Straight Lines, From A to B reached the Top 40 in the UK Albums Chart and contained four hit singles: Straight Lines, Living by Numbers, ThisWorld of Water and Sanctuary. The band also t opped the French singles chart with On Islands from the same album. The band's second album, Anywhere, was released in 1981 and reached #68 in the UK. The album's single releases, Luxury and While You Wait, did not chart.In 1981, a compilation album, Sanctuary, was released exclusively in the United States, consisting of four tracks from From A to B and eight from Anywhere
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Alone Together
One time Kim Fowley protégé, one time Spencer Davis guitar tech Dave Mason was a key and founder member of psych/pop/funk/soul/fusion legends Traffic. The writer of many of the band's early classics including the timeless and much-covered Feelin Alright? Mason was the first to leave due to the classic 'musical differences. Moving to the US, his first solo album was one of the many recordings to come out of the Leon Russell/Delaney & Bonnie axis in1969/1970. Alone Together contains excellent, tightly constructed pop songs, redolent of his singles for Traffic, albeit extended in the then new style, built on a fat bed of acoustic guitars with tasteful electric guitar accents. Mason's vocals are embellished with harmonies from Rita Coolidge, Claudia Lennear and Delaney & Bonnie. Besides the hit Only You Know and I Know , (also a hit for Delaney & Bonnie) highlights include the bouncy gospel-inflected Waitin' On You and the banjo-bejeweled Just a Song . Look at You Look at Me and the wonderfully wah-wahed Shouldn't Have Took More Than You Gave are reminiscent of Traffic, whose drummer, Jim Capaldi is among the all-star cast assembled here. Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Cherry Red is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company