Love Bomb : Expanded Edition - Tubes

Love Bomb : Expanded Edition
Released on 20/02/12. Against a backdrop of political corruption as the American public were still coming to terms with the Watergate scandal and the resultant resignation of President Nixon, one of the country’s first satirical rock bands exploded from the San Francisco music scene with their 1975 self-titled debut album. The Tubes with their heavily dramatised stage show presented a toe-curling affront to all middle-class Americans, shining a light on society’s peccadillo by mirroring anything from S&M sex acts; criminal violence; explicit drug references and at times done with full nudity and with a throbbing Punk Rock N’ Roll soundtrack, they cut through the mainstream media’s cultivated image of clean-cut white American youth presenting a truth that was captured superbly with their anthem, ‘White Punks On Dope’ (written also as a back-handed compliment to their rich, San Franciscan teenage fanbase).

Over the course of the following ten years, The Tubes enhanced their reputation by delivering critically acclaimed albums such as ‘Young And Rich’ and the Todd Rundgren produced ‘Remote Control’. Singles such as ‘Prime Time’ made the UK Top 40 and ‘She’s A Beauty’ from the FM friendly ‘Outside Inside’ album hit the top slot of the US Mainstream Rock charts. Their stage show, although by now extremely expensive to produce, continued to assault the senses and challenge society’s mores.For the 1985 ‘Love Bomb’ album Rundgren returned once more to oversee production duties. And whilst tracks such as, ‘Piece By Piece’ and ‘Come As You Are’ mirrored the slick commercial potential of previous fare, side two of the album flew in the face of what fans had by now come to expect, and its uninterrupted dance-a-thon-mash-up, though a decade ahead of its time, was just a dub-step too far and ‘Love Bomb’ fell short in commercial terms.For this Re-mastered Collector’s Edition, two new tracks to the CD format have been added with the 7” Single edit of the superb ‘Piece By Piece’ and a Single B-side alternative mix of ‘Night People’ edited together with ‘Night People (Reprise)’.


"Todd Rundgren’s Utopia-heavy production didn’t alleviate the lethargy although there are flashes of brilliance from guitarists Roger Steen and Michael Cotton, drummer Prairie Prince and AOR keys king Vince Welnick.”

-Max Bell (Classic Rock Magazine – May 2012)
Our Price: £9.95
Code: CDMRED521
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

Original Album  - Piece By Piece / Stella / Come As You Are / One Good Reason / Bora Bora 2000 / Love Bomb / Night People / Say Hey / Eyes / Muscle Girls  / Theme From A Wooly Place  (Wooly Bully / Theme From A  Summer Place) / For A Song  / Say Hey (Part 2) / Feel It / Night People (Reprise)  / Bonus Tracks - Piece By Piece (Single Edit) / Night People (Parts 1 & 2)
No recommended products at the moment.
No recommended products at the moment.

Cherry Red is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company