In The Evening: Expanded Edition - Sheryl Lee Ralph

In The Evening: Expanded Edition
    SHERYL LEE RALPH is a very successful actress, singer and philanthropist who has appeared in many Broadway musicals, Hollywood films and television shows since the beginning of the 1980's. Ralph first came to prominence having created the role of Deena Jones in the incredibly successful and award winning Broadway musical Dreamgirls for which she was nominated as Best Actress  at the 1982 Tony Awards.  This role was recently reprised on the silver screen by Jennifer Hudson who won an Oscar for her efforts.  Ralph has since secured both Tony and Drama Desk best Actress awards for her performances in subsequent Broadway shows.

    As a result of the success of Dreamgirls Ralph ventured into the recording studio in 1984 to provide us with her acclaimed debut album IN THE EVENING. Produced by Trevor Lawrence (I’m So Excited) , IN THE EVENING immediately struck a chord with the U.S. music buying public who helped the title track and lead single peak at #6 on the Billboard Dance charts.

    The title track ‘In The Evening’ is a full on 80's dancer with a solid and smooth synthesized rhythm section which pins down the groove, and the obligatory electric lead guitar which adds a grittier night time vibe to the track, allowing Ralph's vocal to shake off the daily trials of big city life and lead us to where she feels most alive... in the evening. The second single to be lifted from the album, ‘You're So Romantic’ (R&B #84) is another dancer and picks the pace up from ‘In The Evening.’ Again the smooth synthesized rhythms are in evidence, this time with a very Latin tinged horn line that drives the track while Ralph pines for the attention of her lover. Other notable tracks are the mid-tempo groove ‘Ready Or Not’ with its bubbling bass line and anthemic chorus, and the beautiful, piano led ballad ‘I'm So Glad That We've Met.’

    Hot Shot Records/BBR is proud to present IN THE EVENING. This expanded and re-mastered edition comes complete with extensive liner notes that feature an interview with Trevor Lawrence and added bonus material.

This Hot Shot Records/BBR remaster is a must have for all Eighties R&B, Soul, Dance and Pop fans out there!

Released on 13th January 2014

8.    B.A.B.Y.

11.    IN THE EVENING (12” Version)
12.    YOU'RE SO ROMANTIC (12” Version)
13.    IN THE EVENING (Swedish 12” Remix)
14.    YOU'RE SO ROMANTIC (Swedish 12” Remix)
15.    IN THE EVENING (Instrumental)

Our Price: £9.95
Code: HSR008
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

No recommended products at the moment.
Heart First
Here in the Cherry Pop HQ we are very excited to bring you the news of the long awaited reissue of this very sought after debut album by the undisputed Queen of Hi-NRG, Hazell Dean. Originally released in 1984, the album contains four hit singles, including Searchin' (I Gotta Find AMan) #6 and Whatever I Do (Wherever I Go) #4.

Seven bonus tracks are included on this CD featuring the 12" versions of the four singles from the album, plus her ultra rare single from Stay In My Life which was written for the Eurovision Song Contest and two b/sides Young Boy In The City and Take Me Home.

A comprehensive booklet featuring sleeve notes written by Hazell Dean, a biography of her career and a full UK discography featuring many of her sleeves from over the years and rare promotional images.

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Britny Fox / Boys In Heat
Britny Fox an American glam metal band established themselves early on as hard-hitting contenders. Their self titled debut album was released to great acclaim and one of the most successful premieres of 1988, winning them Metal Edge Magazines 1988 Reader's Choice Award. Their second album 'Boys In Heat' in 1989 fires on all cylinders and rarely misses a beat. Bassist Billy Childs is appearing in writer/director Cory J. Udlers horror film 'Incest Death Squad' which stars George Kosana of 'Night of the Living Dead' and has its World Premier at The Madeson Horror Film Festival on 2 October 2009.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Turn on Your Radio
Although they were formed in Bologna, Italy in 1979, there is a strong American character to much of CHANGE’s music. Their sound was strongly influenced by CHIC, while early singles featured vocals by LUTHER VANDROSS.  Vocals and additional recording for this album took place in New York City.

1985’s TURN ON YOUR RADIO was the sixth and final CHANGE album, and saw the return of founder JACQUES FRED PETRUS as producer. Single LET’S GO TOGETHER gave the group their final US R&B hit. The album also achieved sizeable international success, with LET’S GO TOGETHER reaching the UK Top 40 and OH WHAT A FEELING also charting in the UK. The album also reached the UK Top 40 and the US R&B chart.

BBR is very proud to present TURN ON YOUR RADIO in full and expanded form, complete with extensive liner notes that feature interviews along with added bonus tracks.
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Decca Singles 1975-79
· Every A and B side issued by "guitarist’s guitarist” John Miles for Decca Records between 1975 and 1979 is what you’ll find on this 17 track release

 · Includes the world-wide smash "Music” as well as John’s other hit singles – "Highfly” (No.17), "Remember Yesterday” (No.32) and "Slow Down” (No.10)

· The wall of picture sleeves featured in the booklet will leave even the richest John Miles collector in the poor house!


"This collection of music of the past (no music of the future; that would be impossible sci-fi) showcases Miles as a top talent who simply needed a firm musical direction.”  

-Geoff Barton / Classic Rock May 2012  

"With all four singer/songwriter/guitarist John Miles’ Decca albums already released by sister label Lemon, the 7T’s imprint releases one which is arguably stronger than the others, as it rounds up the 17 songs Miles released as singles A- and B-sides during his Decca tenure.”  

-Music Week March 2012
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Fuel for the Fire (Expanded Edition)
A much requested reissue of synth-pop pioneers Naked Eyes' 2nd album "Fuel For The Fire" plus bonus tracks. This comes after our well received reissue of the band's debut album "Burning Bridges" that was released late 2012.
'Fuel For The Fire' was released in 1984 and featured 1 single "(What) In The Name Of Love" that reached the top 40 in both the U.S. Hot 100 and U.S. Dance charts.
This special edition contains ten tracks from the original album plus seven essential bonus tracks.
This album and its bonus tracks appear on CD for the first time in the UK.
The bonus material features 12" versions of ‘(What) In The Name Of Love’ and Arthur Baker's mix of ‘Sacrifice’. Two B/sides ‘Two Heads Together’ and ‘(What) In The Name Of Love’ - Byrne & Fisher Mix and three previously unreleased demos of ‘Fuel For The Fire’ / ‘Sacrifice’ and ‘Babes In Armour’. These demos have come from Pete Byrne's archives.
This album has been remastered.
This release has been made with the full co-operation of Pete Byrne - the surviving member of the band. Rob Fisher passed away in 1999.

Released 14/10/2013
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Big Break is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company