Groove Me - Fern Kinney

Groove Me
Fern Kinney, who hails from Jackson, Mississippi embarked on her singing career in the late 1960’s when she joined the vocal trio The Poppies with whom she had a 1966 #56 Pop hit with ‘Lullaby Of Love’ and also released her own solo single ‘Your Love’s Not Reliable’.
Unfortunately success was limited during this time so Kinney found herself backing up other artists as a session singer as she moved into the 70’s, appearing on the original recording of ‘Groove Me’ by Atlantic Soul legend King Curtis and also backing her ex-bandmate from The Poppies Dorothy Moore, appearing on her 1976 single ‘Misty Blue’ (R&B #2).
After a brief break from the music business Kinney mounted a comeback in 1979, finding a home for her talents on the legendary Southern Soul imprint Malaco, which resulted in the excellent album GROOVE ME. Kinney was inspired to re-record the King Curtis track she had previously contributed to and boldly changed the original rhythm tempo in order to contemporise the song and bring it in to the disco era. This turned out to be a great move as the title track and lead single from the album became an instant disco hit achieving more than respectable charts highs of #26 R&B and #54 Pop in the US while dominating dancefloors across Europe.
‘Groove Me’ sets the tone for what follows with stand- out tracks such as ‘Angels On The Ground’ and ‘Watcha Gonna Do’, maintaining the feel good factor. The second single released from GROOVE ME was a sensual, mid-tempo dancefloor track called ‘Together We Are Beautiful’ and while this great cut didn’t reach the chart heights of ‘Groove Me’ in the US the Europeans were again listening when the track topped the U.K. singles chart.
BBR is very proud to bring you GROOVE ME, completely re-mastered and repackaged complete with extensive liner notes and extended bonus content.
GROOVE ME is essential for all R&B, Soul and Disco fans out there!

Release Date: 25/03/2013

Our Price: £9.92
Code: CDBBR0214
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

1. Groove Me
2. Under Fire
3. Angel On The Ground
4. Pillow Talk
5. Together We Are Beautiful
6. Sun, Moon, Rain
7. Baby Let Me Kiss You

Bonus tracks:

8. Let's Keep It Right There
9. I Want You Back
10. Movie Show
11. Groove Me (Single Version)
12. Baby Let Me Kiss You (Single Version)
13. Sweet Life (Duet with Frederick Knight)
14. Tonight's The Night (Duet with Frederick Knight)

No recommended products at the moment.
Smooth Talk

Smooth Talk was Evelyn's 1977 debut RCA album. The album features the huge R&B and Disco hits Shame and I Don't Know If It's Right.

Smooth Talk made #8 R&B and #14 Pop as well as achieving gold certification and spending a year on the album charts. The 12" Disco mixes and 7" radio versions of Shame and I Don't Know If It's Right are included as bonus tracks. BBR introduce the first ever expanded re-master of this album on CD.

Liner notes include detailed interviews with Evelyn and producer T. Life. This long sought-after CD re-master is a must for all Soul, Disco and Funk fans.

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

The Singles Collection Plus
UNFORTUNATELY THIS TITLE IS CURRENTLY OUT OF STOCK. Cherry Red Records apologises for the unavailability of this album, however if you would like to be notified when it is on sale again then please email Thanks.

•    Includes all five of Kenny’s UK hit singles plus their one and only UK chart album
•    Also features the German hits "Alone Together” and "Hot Lips”
•    Booklet features extensive liner notes and many rare European picture sleeves
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

The Untouchable
•    First time on CD for this UK No.4 LP from 1974
•    Includes the hit singles "My Coo Ca Choo” (No.2) and "Jealous Mind” (No.1)
•    Now comes with a rare bonus track previously never issued on CD or LP
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

•    Suzi’s second studio album, originally released in 1974, gets a make over courtesy of the 7T’s crew
•    The No.14 "Too Big” and the No.7 "The Wild One” are now joined by the No.1 smash "Devil Gate Drive”, probably Suzi’s best known and most popular single
•    The First Lady of Glam and an undoubted influence on the likes of The Runaways and Joan Jett


"Suzi Quatro is a pioneer female rocker, who wrote the rules as she went along. No mountain too high, no river too deep for this Detroit-born rock ‘n’ roller. She’s conquered them all, and has continued to rock hard for nearly 50 years.”

-Mark Kadzielawa ( – March 2012)
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

LINX started out life as a 5-piece Soul and Brit-Funk band. Signed to Chrysalis records, the band released their first single in 1980 titled, YOU'RE LYING which yielded the group a top 20 single reaching #15 on the UK Pop Chart. Shortly before the release of their debut album, the band slimmed down their line up and became a duo consisting of bass player Peter Martin and singer David Grant who has worked with many artists as a backing singer including Diana Ross and The Lighthouse Family. In the Spring of 1981 LINX tasted their next piece of chart success when INTUITION, the title track from the band's 1981 album release, made it into the top 10 scoring a #7 on the UK Pop charts featuring a distinct Caribbean flavour. The follow up single, THROW AWAY THE KEY, is driven by a classic funk bass line and David Grant's effortless vocals glide over the top which returned the group to the UK Pop chart at #21. YOU'RE LYING also gained an impressive #27 US R&B chart position with TOGETHER WE CAN SHINE following suit, securing an R&B top 50 spot. BBR is very proud to present the first ever CD issue of the Brit-Funk classic, INTUITION, in full and expanded form,complete with extensive liner notes that feature an interview with David Grant along with added bonus tracks. Released in deluxe Super Jewel cases this BBR Remaster is a must have for all Brit-Funk, Soul, Disco and R&B fans out there!

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Big Break is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company