Quazar - Quazar

QUAZAR were a ten-piece funk group hailing from New Jersey. This was their only album release coming out in 1978. They were led by former P-Funk vocalist Glenn Goins who unfortunately died shortly before the release. This led to the demise of the band and less funk for the masses. Before they split they supported the likes of Roy Ayers and Cameo.
QUAZAR featured Keyboard player Greg Fitz who has also played with Bootsy Collins. The bass player, Eugene "Moochie” Jackson, went onto write songs for Evelyn "Champagne” King and Odyssey as well as being a member of the classic eighties funk outfit Slave.
FUNK ‘N’ ROLL (DANCIN’ IN THE FUNKSHINE) was the first single from QUAZAR and peaked at R&B #11. It is a true Bootsy-esque funk classic with a Gospel twist.
FUNK WITH A BIG FOOT was the follow up single and is an old school Philly block party classic that’s sure to get any party started.
Released in deluxe Super Jewel cases, with bonus tracks, QUAZAR is a must for all Soul, Funk and Dance fans out there!

RELEASE DATE: 04/06/2012
Our Price: £9.95
Code: CDBBR0137
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

1. Funk With A Big Foot
2. Funk With A Capital G
3. Funk N Roll (Dancin In The Funkshine )
4. Workin On Buildin
5. Your Lovin Is Easy
6. Love Me Baby
7. Savin My Love For A Rainy Day
8. Starlight Circus
9. Shades Of Quaze
10. Funk N Roll (Dancin In The Funkshine ) (Single Version) (Bonus Track)
11. Savin’ My Love For A Rainy Day (Single Version)
12. Funk With A Big Foot (Single Version) (Bonus Track)
No recommended products at the moment.
Celebrate: Expanded Edition

· KOOL & THE GANG need no introduction. They were the top selling Soul group of the 70’s and 80’s having sold over 70 million albums worldwide and have received countless awards. Without them we would not have such great hits as ‘Summer Madness,’ ‘Get Down On It,’ ‘Celebration’ and who could forget that slammin’ funk monster that features so heavily in Quentin Tarantino’s cult flick - Pulp Fiction; ‘Jungle Boogie.’”


· CELEBRATE!, released in 1980, once again featured the production of legendary Grammy Award Winner, Eumir Deodato. The album garnered huge success, reaching the top spot on the U.S. R&B charts, and top ten positions in both the U.S. and U.K. pop charts, gaining platinum certification in February 1981.


· The albums singles performed just as impressively with CELEBRATION, arguably the group’s most successful song, hitting the top spot on the US Billboard Pop and R&B charts and #7 in the U.K. winning platinum status in the U.S. along the way. CELEBRATION also hit the top of the charts all around the world and was later redubbed with Spanish vocals and released to the Latin American market as CELEBREMOS, and featured as a B-side to TAKE IT TO THE TOP which hit a top 20 spot in the U.K. The soulful lament JONES VS. JONES closed out the single releases gaining a top 40 spot in the U.S. and a top 20 in the U.K., making #17.


· BBR is proud to present CELEBRATE! This fully expanded and newly remastered edition comes complete with extensive liner notes and bonus material.


· Released in a deluxe Super Jewel case, this BBR re-master is a must have for all Soul, Funk, R&B, Disco and Pop fans out there!

Available 28/10/2013

Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Happy Together (Expanded Edition)
ODYSSEY started life as The Lopez Singers, a female vocal group from Connecticut, in 1968. The original line up was the three Lopez sisters Carmen, Lillian and Louise, however Carmen left soon after and was replaced by Filipino singer and bassist Tony Reynolds. It was this line-up which went on to have worldwide success with the hit single ‘Native New Yorker’ in 1977, taken from their debut self-titled LP "Odyssey," which was the first of their albums to be re-issued by BBR. In 1978 Reynolds was replaced by Billy McEachern  who gave the group a settled line up which was a springboard for their continued success on both sides of the Atlantic. 

HAPPY TOGETHER was the groups fifth LP released in 1982, and followed on from 1981's "I Got The Melody,” 1980's "Hang Together” and 1978's "Hollywood Party Tonight,” all of which are now available on BBR.  By this point Odyssey had gained a strong following in the UK due to the success of these albums and in particular the singles ‘Use It Up And Wear It Out,’ from "Hang Together” and ‘Going Back To My Roots’ from "I Got The Melody.”

HAPPY TOGETHER (R&B #23/UK #21) features the smash classic single "Inside Out” which gave the group their highest performing single in the US since their debut ‘Native New Yorker,’ peaking at #12 R&B (Pop #104/Dance #22). ‘Inside Out’ also continued the group’s great success in the UK giving them their biggest hit (#3) since 1980's ‘Use It Up And Wear It Out’ hit the top spot. Further stand out tracks in this set are the singles ‘Together’ (written and co-produced by Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards of CHIC) and ‘Magic Touch’ (UK #41) which bookend this classic album.

BBR is very proud to bring the first ever CD release anywhere in the world of HAPPY TOGETHER, completely remastered and repackaged complete with extensive liner notes, interviews and bonus content. HAPPY TOGETHER is an essential purchase for all R&B, Soul, Disco and Pop fans out there!

Available 03/03/2014

Our Price: £10.95

click to see more

Witch Doctor: Expanded Edition
•    Instant Funk came out of New Jersey in the early seventies having started life as The Music Machine, performing as backing band for the likes of The Manhattans, Bunny Sigler and The TNJ's. The group moved to Philadelphia in 1976 to work on their own sound and released their first LP "Get Down With The Philly Jump” on the city’s famous TSOP imprint, now firmly under the wing of Bunny Sigler who produced the record. The following year Instant Funk backed Bunny Sigler on his Gold Mind/Salsoul release "Let Me Party With You” (CDBBR0249) paving the way for the groups eponymous debut on Salsoul in early 1979 (CDBBR0121) having perfected their marriage of Philly Soul/Disco and Heavy Funk.

•    WITCH DOCTOR (R&B #23/Pop #129), also released in 1979, came hot on the heels of the success of their first Salsoul offering capitalizing on tracks such as ‘I Got My Mind Made Up (You Can Get It Girl)’ which hit the top spot on both the R&B and Disco charts. Bunny Sigler comes to the fore in the producers chair on WITCH DOCTOR, galvanizing the group to hit the heights on the full on funk tracks ‘Bodyshine’ (R&B #41/Pop #103), with Tee Scott's 12” Mix also included on this release, ‘Slap, Slap, Lickedy Lap,’ and the title track ‘Witch Doctor’ (R&B #35) which all exemplify the tightest of units at the top of their game grooving on the richest of party funk cuts. ‘Scream And Shout’ is another floor-filler while the ballad ‘I Had A Dream’ shows the band in a different light.

•    During their career Instant Funk also worked with the likes of the O’Jays, Archie Bell & the Drells, the Three Degrees, Dexter Wansell and Evelyn "Champagne” King, as well as releasing seven albums between 1976 and 1983.

•    This newly remastered edition of Instant Funk's WITCH DOCTOR comes complete with extensive liner notes and bonus content making this BBR Remaster a must have for all R&B, Funk, Soul, Disco and Philly Soul fans out there!

•    This CD is released 14th April and will not be shipped prior to this date.

Track Listing:


8.    SLAP, SLAP, LICKEDY LAP (Alternative Mix)

Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Big Break is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company