Make It Last Forever - Donna McGhee

Make It Last Forever
Donna McGhee is an amazingly talented Funk and Disco singer hailing from Brooklyn, New York. She got her first break singing with The Fatback Band. Over the three years Donna was with The Fatback Band they toured with the likes of Teddy Pendergrass, Crown Heights Affair and Chaka Khan.

MAKE IT LAST FOREVER is Donna’s debut solo album after signing to the disco label Red Greg in 1977. Released in 1978 this Greg Carmichael and Patrick Adams (legendary producer of countless 70’s classics) produced album is a disco classic that is much in demand by aficionados across the world with copies going for over £70 on ebay.

was the albums first single and the B-Side MR BLINDMAN is the albums ultimate disco classic. This song is a regular feature in many DJ’s sets today as well as appearing on numerous compilation albums of the genres classics.

tore up dance floors across the states becoming a staple in DJ’s set lists at Studio 54.

was nominated for a Grammy and was also re-recorded by Bumblebee Unlimited with Donna providing vocals, this version is a cult classic.


"Before embarking on her solo career, Donna McGhee got her first break singing with The Fatback Band. Later, she found herself touring with Chaka Khan, Crown Heights Affair and Teddy Pendergrass. By 1977, Donna found herself signed to the disco label Red Greg Records, releasing Make it Last Forever in 1978. Produced by the Greg Carmichael and Patrick Adams, Make it Last Forever is a true disco classic, with copies changing hands for upwards of $100.”  

Derek’s Music Blog

Our Price: £9.95
Code: CDBBR0118
Weight: 200
Save wishlist

6. IT AIN'T NO BIG THING (Danny krivit re-edit)
7. MAKE IT LAST FOREVER (Single version)
8. IT AIN'T NO BIG THING (Single version)
No recommended products at the moment.
Love Sensation: Expanded Edition
·       Loleatta Holloway was a dance music legend. Her amazing vocal talents gained her the reputation as one of the premier vocalists of soul and dance music during the 70’s and 80’s. Holloway started her singing career with Queen of Gospel, Albertina Walker (and her Caravans) before striking out on her own. She released her first single "Rainbow ‘71” on the fledgling Apache label before moving to Aware to record her first two albums prior to her work with Gold Mind/Salsoul.
·       Holloway’s first album for Gold Mind was "Loleatta” (CDBBR0108) which spawned the R&B/Dance hits ‘Worn Out Broken Heart,’ ‘Hit And Run’ and ‘Dreamin’.’ She recorded two more albums for Gold Mind/Salsoul before contributing vocals to the disco classic ‘Re-light My Fire’ by Dan Hartman, who went on to write and produce the title track for her fourth and final album for Gold Mind/Salsoul, LOVE SENSATION. 
·       LOVE SENSATION, released in 1980, provided Holloway with several disco hits. Not least was the title track and album opener which scorched  dance floors and propelled this heavily sampled classic to the #1 spot on the Billboard dance charts and rivals her recording of the timeless classic ‘Run Away,’ with The Salsoul Orchestra, as her most enduring performance.  ‘Dance What ‘Cha Wanna’ and ‘Short End Of The Stick’ (both penned by Bobby and Cecil Womack) were also strong dance floor favourites, the former of which would bring even the most rooted wallflower to express themselves with abandon. Holloway also shows off her incredible range and vocal nuance on the ballads ‘My Way’ (Bobby Womack) and the classic Jerry Butler and Otis Redding composition ‘I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.’ 
·       BBR is very proud to bring you LOVE SENSATION, completely remastered and complete with extensive liner notes and extended bonus content. Ideal for all R&B, Soul, Disco and Salsoul fans.     

Available 28/10/2013
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more

Magic Journey: Expanded Edition
· The brainchild of once MFSB member and legendary vibraphonist, Vince Montana Jr. came THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA.

· Formed in 1974, THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA, house band for the remarkable Salsoul Records, sometimes featured up to 50 members amongst its ranks. This included a number of former musicians from MFSB, the house band for the Gamble & Huff fronted Philadelphia International Records, who fused elements of Funk, Latin, Disco and Philly Soul into their compositions.

· Conducted by Vincent Montana Jr., THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA began an eight-year recording period in 1975 releasing eleven sensational albums during which time they featured production input from Tom Moulton, Stan Lucas, Patrick Adam and Bunny Sigler as well as the orchestra’s conductor.

· BBR is proud to bring you the third instalment of our Salsoul Orchestra reissues, MAGIC JOURNEY, which climbed all the way to #61 and spent an incredible 20 weeks on the R&B album charts. Recorded at the famous Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia with much of the writing, arranging and production being tended to by Vince Montana Jr. himself, MAGIC JOURNEY also features some great musicianship from legends like Bobby Eli, Ron Kersey, Norman Harris and Ron Baker to name but a few.

· Standout tracks include the hit single Run Away, which featured Loleatta Holloway on vocals and spent 6 weeks on the R&B charts peaking at #84. The track would later be revived by Masters At Work with the help of Vince Montana Jr. himself on their 1996 rendition under their Nu-Yorican Soul alias. Other notable tracks include Magic Bird Of Fire with its ominously driven beginning that gives way to an upbeat bass riff coupled with some R&B inspired piano as well as the unmistakable Salsoul groove, and Getaway, with its fusion of disco and Latin flavours.

· This newly re-mastered, fully expanded edition comes packaged complete with extensive liner notes and added bonus content making this BBR re-master of The Salsoul Orchestra – Magic Journey a must have for all R&B, Funk, Soul, Latin, Disco, and Philly Soul fans out there!

Available 28/10/2013
Our Price: £9.95

click to see more


Big Break is part of Cherry Red | Site Design by Chase The Ace Design 2010



Buy 5 CDs = 25% off
Buy 3 CDs = 15% off
See Terms and Conditions


Click Here For Info


Click Here For Info


Cherry Red Records is a Carbon Neutral Company